Yamaha PSR-E253 vs. Casio CTK 2400

Reaction score
Hello!
To start, I know these two keyboards are mainly designed for beginners. I would not classify myself an advanced player but am certainly not a beginner as I took lessons from ages 4-13. Therefore, the “beginner-friendly” perks aren’t too important to me. I’ve chosen between these two because they seem like decent digital pianos and are fairly priced. (I’m a college student with limited space and money :p) I’m also not looking for a keyboard with a bunch of different sound effects as I find I don’t really use many of them, usually just stick to portable grand setting. Out of the two, which has a more authentic piano sound/feel? Thank you all in advance!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
- The PSR-E253 has organ-like keys (i.e., thin and flat).
- The CTK-2400 has piano-style keys (i.e., box-shaped), although they are only "semi-weighted."
- So the CTK-2400's keys would feel more like a piano's keys, but not the same as a piano's keys.

- The PSR-E253 does not have a velocity-sensitive keyboard.
- The CTK-2400 does not have a velocity-sensitive keyboard.
- So neither one will let you play more softly or more loudly by varying how forcefully (i.e., how quickly) you strike the keys.

- The PSR-E253 does not have any way to connect to a computer for communicating MIDI data.
- The CTK-2400 has a USB port for connecting to a computer for communicating MIDI data.
- So the CTK-2400 would be a better choice if you want to stream (i.e., "sequence") MIDI song data from the computer to play on the keyboard, or for recording MIDI data on the computer, or controlling virtual instruments on the computer. However, the fact that it is not velocity-sensitive would be an issue.

- The PSR-E253 has 32-note polyphony.
- The CTK-2400 has 48-note polyphony.