A question about synth sound quality

Reaction score
Hello everyone..

I've been playing guitar for a bit over 20 years. I've dabbled with piano on and off, but nothing to the point where I could be called a 'pianist'. I could back my own tracks by playing chords which I really didn't practice learning, but would practice the needed chords for the individual songs. Well, recently, I'm attempting to put forth a lot of effort in learning the piano for real this time.

I'm in the market to buy a keyboard with good midi functionality. I don't want a stand-alone controller for DAW only, but rather one that has good stand alone sound coupled with decent MIDI controller options.

I've narrowed it down to Yamaha's MM6, Korg's X50, and Roland's Juno Di. All of which are in my price range. I would like to jump up to Korg's M50, but it's out of range.

Roland's Juno Di seems to have the best of what I'm looking for. Though I may be making a mistake over the X50, but the X50 just doesn't seem to look very durable and some of the reviews about programming the sound make it seem a little daunting for the novice. The MM6 has a few awesome Motif acoustic sounds, but seems rather lacking in the synth and midi department. A good response in this thread about why I might choose other than the Juno Di might be a game changer though if someone wants to argue for their favorite.