Changing Banks – Live Play


Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
1
For live play, I am using -
Controller: Roland A-49
Module: Ketron SD2

The controller is powered from my phone charger. It's MIDI Out goes to my module. Pressing FUNCTION, PRGM CHANGE on the controller allows me to use its NUMERIC ENTRY keys to select a patch from the GM bank. The module offers banks: 0, 1, 2, 10, & 67, but I've had no luck in changing banks. I've tried FUNCTION, CTRL CHANGE, followed by entering many combinations of the above numbers. At one point, I happened to enter bank 2, but am unable to find that door again.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,408
Reaction score
3,104
Check to see what Bank Select controller method the Ketron uses. It will be either Normal, Controller 0 or Controller 32.

You'll have to configure the Roland to use the same Bank Select Method.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
1
The Ketron manual does not use those terms. I found here, this statement: Bank select on the SD2 uses CC0, but not CC32.
Ketron groups the banks:

VOICE BANK A (Control Change 00, Value = 0)
VOICE BANK B (Control Change 00, Value = 1)
VOICE BANK C (Control Change 00, Value = 10)
PRESETS BANK (Control Change 00, Value = 2)
DRUM SETS LIVE DRUMS (Drums 2) (Control Change 00, Value = 4)

The Roland controller has Function keys for CTRL CHANGE, BANK SELECT LSB or MSB, and PRGM CHANGE, as well as the NUMERIC ENTRY keys. What combination of these need pressed in which order is the question. Somebody surely knows if they've not died.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,408
Reaction score
3,104
OK, so going by what you've written:

VOICE BANK A: set the Roland CTRL Change 0 Bank Select MSB 0 LSB 0

VOICE BANK B: set the Roland CTRL Change 0 Bank Select MSB 0 LSB 1

VOICE BANK C: set the Roland CTRL Change 0 Bank Select MSB 0 LSB 10

PRESETS BANK: set the Roland CTRL Change 0 Bank Select MSB 0 LSB 2

DRUM SETS : set the Roland CTRL Change 0 Bank Select MSB 0 LSB 4

That should do it.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
1
Thanks, Gary. Unfortunately, General MIDI is all I'm getting regardless of function commands.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
1
I seem to have found the path, so I will share it.

Ketron SD2 live from a Roland A-49 – Selecting Banks
Notes: The Roland can be powered from a phone charger. Hold the Function, Assign, and Pitch buttons while plugging the unit in to the power supply. Although only the FUNCTION button is an actual button, I will refer to the designated keyboard keys such as F# as buttons as well since they function as buttons. To make sure you’re on track, using the Roland, do a factory reset: FUNCTION > FACT RESET (D#3) > ENTER (D4). Conversely, simply powering up the SD2 reboots it to factory reset - General MIDI.

Selecting a Bank
1. Press in order these 4 buttons:
FUNCTION > CTRL CHANGE > 0 > ENTER.
This tells Ketron that you’re about to send a control change of some kind. Thankfully, the system will stay in Control Change mode, so other bank changes during performance can skip this step. Powering off the SD2, however, reverts back to General MIDI.

2. Press in order these 3 or 4 buttons:
FUNCTION > MSB > which ever 2 or 3 digits you want from the list below > ENTER

00 = Ketron Bank 0 = GENERAL MIDI = factory reset
01 = Ketron Bank 1. Offers great guitars and strings
02 = Ketron Bank 2. Offers a good Hawaiian (steel) guitar and other nice guitars
010 = Ketron Bank 10. Offers many good sax and trumpet patches.

In other words, for Bank 2, press: FUNCTION, MSB, 02, ENTER.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,408
Reaction score
3,104
Glad to hear that you sorted it out :)

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
1
Correction:
Banks 0, 1, and 2, require only the single digit entry. Only bank 10 requires two digits.
 

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Moderator
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
2,270
Reaction score
940
Is it okay to enter them with two digits anyway, or must they be entered as one-digit values?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
1
It is okay. In fact, even if you press 0 multiple times, it is ignored. And this is true for Bank 10 as well. Pressing 000010 will still get Bank 10.

Also, switching banks does not change the program number to some default program. If I'm hearing Bank 1, Program 30, and enter Bank 0, the sound is still number 30 of the new bank.

Since the Ketron has no screen, I will stay within banks when possible so that I can select programs with fewer buttons.
 

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Moderator
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
2,270
Reaction score
940
I was about to say “The Ketron has no screen?!?!?” but then I realized it’s a sound module, not a keyboard. :):)

My entry-level Yamahas behave the same way, except maybe the part about all those extra 0s being ignored, but that might depend on the situation. In most cases it’s actually quicker to enter any leading 0s on my Yammies, as entering fewer digits than a field can hold may result in the keyboard waiting a second to see if you’re going to enter any more digits, then if no more digits are entered it will accept the value that you input; whereas if you enter the expected number of digits for a field the value is accepted as soon as you enter the final digit.

Edit: The part about switching banks without specifying a new program is also different. I think it’s fairly common on keyboards (well, on Yamahas anyway) that if you specify a new bank number but no program number then nothing will change, because the bank won’t actually change until you specify a program (even if it’s just the same program number as before). On the other hand, specifying a new program number without a bank number will switch programs in the current bank. For that reason, on keyboards that behave that way, you need to always specify the bank first followed by the program, because if you specify the program first you’ll get that program in the old bank since the keyboard won’t switch banks when it receives the new bank change request— until the next program change request.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
39
Reaction score
1
In the beginning, MIDI created Heaven and Earth. It was the mid 80's. My first two boards were so easy to use. That second one - the Roland D-20 - was the Holy Spirit. I could invent a multi-track recording on the fly while my classroom of kids took in the marvels. Then came evil Complexities. Somebody apparently ate the forbidden fruit.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top