Control auto-accompaniment of arranger keyboard via Midi?

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newcomer here with a question:

I'm an acoustic guitarist/singer looking to add some backing drums to my one-man band setup. Back in the day, I used to play the Roland G800 & G1000 arranger keyboards which I felt had a pretty solid set of user-styles with many variations, intros/outros, fills, etc. Over time, I also created several user-styles which fit my music. These are not pre-sequenced tracks, so they give me the flexibility to repeat a line or play spontaneous leads if I feel like it.

My question is this: Do modern arranger keyboards (Korg, Yamaha, Roland, etc.) allow these arranger functions to be controlled by a MIDI foot-controller like the
Behringer Foot Controller FCB1010? It comes with 10-12 foot buttons and a couple of expressions pedals as well. What I'd like is to map each foot button to a different arranger function, e.g., button 1 starts the beat, 2 triggers a fill, 3 leads to the outro, etc. I'm guessing this has to be through MIDI messages, but don't know a whole lot more.

Are there standard MIDI messages to be sent for this? I read somewhere about the NTA (Note-to-Arranger) message, but don't find much information. Thanks in advance for any guidance or suggestions.

Cheers,

Joe

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Some arranger keyboards let you control their auto accompaniments by external MIDI messages, but some do not. For example, the Yamaha PSR-S models do, but the PSR-E models do not, although you can control them by internal MIDI messages. I don't know about other brands, so you'd need to check their manuals.

With the Yamaha PSR-S models, you can send System Exclusive messages to the keyboard to select the particular style, trigger the specific style variation and section, and send the key and chord changes. I'm not sure how much of that can be programmed into a foot controller or other MIDI controller.