New to keyboards, few questions

Reaction score
Well, I've had some experience during mandatory music lessons during the first two years of high school. Keyboard I kind of enjoyed and picked up quite well. Also did guitar which didn't go so well, didn't enjoy it and couldn't play it with any degree of accuracy.

I've become interested recently in starting to play an instrument though, and I decided that it would either be bass or keyboard. Due to my prvious experience with guitar and keyboard, also partly due to increased hand coordination (was awful at doing different things with different hands when I first tried) through extensive use of gaming on a (computer) keyboard, keyboard does seem like the easier and better option. Due to some complications that I really can't be bothered explaining, I won't have enough room in my bedroom for around two months, so a while before I could actually buy a keyboard. So until then, a few questions.

What brands should I look out for, and which should I avoid? [Answered]

What are the advantages of MIDI? [Answered]

What number of keys do you recommend for a relative beginner? [Answered]

My headphones are designed for games, Creative Fatal1ty headset, planning on getting Grado SR80i's at some point but they are expensive for myself, so would the former headset be fine to start with? [Possibly Answered]

What price range should I look at? I'm fairly serious about trying this so I'd be willing to go up to about £200. Is that enough? [Answered]

What software do you recommend for recording and playing back music? (Running windows 7 and Fedora, so something compatible with either of those)

Any training schemes recommended? I won't be able to afford a personal tutor. [Answered]

Is there any special equipment required to connect a keyboard to a computer? [Answered]

Any websites recommended for puraching keyboards? [Answered]