first synthetizer need help

Reaction score
Hello guys
I intend to buy my first synthetizer this year. I started playing keyboards with organs and pianos but now it's time for me to buy a good synth.
I play indie music, lo-fi tunes and so I'm looking for the right one.
Second hand of course, from the 80s maybe.

I love casio keyboards so I'd like to get one of them.
do you know casio cz 3000?
it seems cool but not knobs, do I have to program everything?

what about korg? Roland?

thanks!!!

Reaction score
I have a Casio WK-8000, and it has everything you would wish for. Great sound and huge functionality. At least 600 sounds with 200 different settings on each sound. Transposing function so you and a clarinetist can play from the same book. Can play midifiles from a memory card you put in the keyboard. It is newer than 80-s, but it is perhaps worth a peek.

The Y_man

Reaction score
Sara,

There's no real "instructions" for those type of keyboards - you just twiddle the knobs until you find a sound you like. :)
The Delta according to the review has no memory - so if you find a setting you like, you need to make a note or take a photo of it.

I have to warn you that there are potential maintenance costs involved with older keyboards too - most of my 1980's vintage equipment have ceased some of their operational capacity due to parts failure, internal batteries etc.

Have a watch of some of the youtube material on the Delta

eg.

If you like the Delta, you might like the M-Audio Venom I mentioned above

The Y-man

Reaction score
thanks Y_man for your advice, yes I know about problems with vintage equipment. I have plenty of old keyboards. For one of them I was looking for service manual and I found the solution just writing in this forum :)
anyway, looking in the enternet i found the service manual for the Delta.
this saturday I'm going to try it.
fingers crossed!

thanks again

Reaction score