Greetings from Ireland

Reaction score
Hello to all from this new member in Ireland. I've been a pianist and organist for many years, mainly classical, church and light music. I'm now thinking of adding a good quality keyboard (not sure yet which one) so I expect I'll soon be asking questions.
Greg.

Reaction score
Thanks for your prompt response. I'm interested in your opinion of what might be a suitable short list. Requirements as follows: something that works out of the box with a good range of voices - built-in amplifier/speakers - preferably 6 octaves (I imagine 61 note keyboards are restricting) - good touch-sensitive feel etc - mainly home use but ability to use in church via external amplifier. If this makes sense as a rough spec, what do you suggest I look at? I prefer to narrow the search before I go shopping.

Reaction score
Ok - £1,000 can get you a lot of keyboard, so let's try & narrow it down a little.

A sticking point could be the built-in speaker issue.
Most 'professional' standard keyboards do not have built-in speakers - these type of instruments are mainly targeted at the 'home keyboard' market.
You could, for example, buy a really good keyboard & a small 'practice' amp & still get change from your £1,000.

So, are built-in speakers an absolute neccessity?

Reaction score
Now I'm learning, thanks to you. I don't HAVE to have built-in speakers if that means I'll have an inferior instrument.

Reaction score
We're getting somewhere now!
Next up - you mentioned touch sensitive keys & I note that you play both piano and organ.
Out of the two, you should decide which type of 'feel' you are most comfortable with... the 'springy' touch of the organ, or the 'weighted' touch of the piano?

Reaction score
In that case you are looking at an 88-note ie: 7 1/4 octave keyboard.
The trade-off here is that although you get the 'quality' feel you'd like, the unit as a whole is inevitably going to weigh more. (still perfectly transportable in most cases though)