Hammond SK1midi help please

Reaction score
Hi, newbie here...I'm trying to send out Hammond SK1 programs via midi. I'm stuck trying to figure out external zones.
Any help greatly appreciated.

Reaction score
What do you mean by "send out Hammond SK1 programs via midi"?

External zones allow the SK1 to play sounds located in external gear (like in an attached sound module, iPad, laptop, second keyboard, etc.). Is that what you're trying to do?

Reaction score
Yes Scott..I'm trying to get the internal sounds midi'd over to pro tools....
I'm sending a signal that's being read in pro tools. I just don't know how to assign a sound to the signal

Reaction score
I'm sending a signal that's being read in pro tools. I just don't know how to assign a sound to the signal
What are you trying to get from the SK1 to Pro Tools? Are you trying to get MIDI? Or are you trying to get audio? The two are entirely different.

If you're bringing over MIDI, by definition, that does not include any sound. So yes, you need to then assign a sound to the signal, and that's something you have to figure out in Pro Tools, that may be what you need help with rather than the SK1, and I can't help you there. But you can choose to have Pro Tools use that MIDI data to trigger the SK1 sound, or some other sound from an organ VST on your computer, or some other sound altogether.

To record audio from the SK1 (whether from playing it directly or by sending it MIDI data), you'll need to connect the audio jacks of the SK1 to whatever interface you're using for Pro Tools, and route that to an audio track in Pro Tools. At that point, you're recording audio, not MIDI, since again, MIDI does not contain any audio at all.

Reaction score