Keyboards for Recording?

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to this but I need some help. I am not a keyboard player by any means. I am new to this instrument, however I am looking to make a purchase soon. I am in the process of working on a small time film and need a keyboard to help with sounds and effects and layering. I have looked at different options and have narrowed it down to a few. I am intrigued by the Roland FA-06 because of its capabilities, but I have also looked at others like the Korg Krome. What is the best type of keyboard for this situation. I like the idea of a workstation and like the concept of being able to sequence and record right to the built in DAW. What are the opinions? Or would it seriously be a better option to buy a controller keyboard with some software and layer that way?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Can you give us a better background on your abilities? Do you play any sort of musical instrument at all? Do you have any music theory under your belt?

What sort of sounds are you trying to achieve in your film? Schmaltzy romantic? Sci Fi eerie? Rootin Tootin Western? Film Noire detective?

Both machines you listed are in the $1000 to $1200 range. Have you budgeted for extra production software as well?

Answer these questions and we'll be better able to help you.

Gary ;)

Reaction score