Maybe I should have been a drummer....

Reaction score
Owning a workstation, I'm pretty much a 1 man band. I recorded "Sharp Dressed Man" by ZZ Top the other night. I recorded a drum, bass, and keyboard section and I played the guitar sound on the playback. It never really occurred to me how hard I hit the keys when I'm not playing an acoustic piano sound. I was really lacing into my Motif. I was beating the keys like a snare drum.
I do it a lot on clavi and Wurli sounds too. I also have a very bad habit of gritting my teeth to the beat. Sort of a dental metronome. Anybody else smash their keys like Pete Townsend smashing his guitar when they play?

Reaction score
I am on the reversed side of you my friend!
I am a Drummer/Percussionist and I have a love for making the Keys sound "Guitaristic"! I also love big pads and impacting sound Fx.. So I understand where you are coming from with this!
Piano, in itself, to me.. is very percussive! so it makes sense to feel the need to drum or groove! I appreciate your thread and encourage you to be whatever your heart desires my friend.

-Z

Fred Coulter

Collector of ancient keyboards
Reaction score
Actually the piano is officially classified as a percussive instrument.

Gary ;)
Pianos work by hitting the stretched string, like a hammered dulcimer. Hitting equals percussion.

Harpsichords work by plucking the stretched string, like a harp.

Clavichords are unique, as far as I know.

Organs work by passing air through pipes and reeds, like woodwinds. Accordions are too.

Hurdy gurdies work by using a rosined wheel to repeatedly pull and release on a stretched string, like a violin and its bow.

All in all, keyboard instruments are classified all over the field in sound generation, but connected by the way they're controlled by the musician.

(I'm sure I've missed at least one or two.)

Reaction score
Pianos work by hitting the stretched string, like a hammered dulcimer. Hitting equals percussion.