Need help with midi connections please! Im a newb!

Reaction score
I have an mmt-8 sequencer (in/out/thru), an Alesis hr-16 drum machine (in/out), a microkorg (in/out/thru), and a prophet 5 rev 4 (in/out/thru). I want the mmt-8 to be master clock and everything else slave. I want to control the prophet with the microkorg but I do not want to control anything else with the microkorg. Prophet has no arpeggiator so I want to arpeggiate the prophet with the microkorg, which I have some understanding and success with doing this. Note: mmt-8 and hr-16 both have midi echo function but it is unclear to me exactly what this function does and in what case you would use it and how to apply it. I would be incredibly grateful to someone who could give me step by step detailed instruction as to how to get this rig going. I have tried nearly every combo I can think of and cannot get this rig going. I have success with parts of the rig but it always ends with the mmt-8 not being able to record the midi and play it back. I’ve tested mmt-8 with one synth and it does work, it will record and spit back midi info. Please if anyone could step in and help me out I’d be very appreciative. I understand I may need a merger for the prophet/microkorg setup and possibly even a thru box, but where in the chain do I put these? Step by step, detailed instruction is what I need, with as much information as possible, I get lost easily, haha. Thank you to anyone who can help me with this!

Reaction score
You'd have to blow big bux on a MIDI Router like Sipario.

Yah looks like that would do the trick. I just figured with both of my synths having a thru and the midi echo function on my mmt-8 I could somehow manage with a daisy chain. Surprisingly there aren’t many great midi tutorial videos on YouTube aimed at the sort of the thing I’m trying to do. That’s why I came here, haha.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score