New here, bought new Yamaha PSR, have questions

Reaction score
Hi,
I am a returning keyboard student after many years away. I learned piano as a kid, hated the lessons, and then started up again, and then quit because my teacher at the time only knew how to teach classical. I am back with keyboard after a long absence but think I can pick it up fairly easily. I also play acoustic and electric guitar but I need a break from it.

I got inspired to take up the keyboard again after watching that "Piano Guy" and his infomercials. I thought, I play by ear, I can do that, I should start again. I would LOVE to play my favorite songs.

So I traded in my old Yamaha stage piano that was collecting dust and bought a PSR-e363 yesterday. It's so light and portable and full of great sounds and possibilities. The manual has a lot of facts but not much in terms of how to get going making music. That is what lead me here.

I am interested to know what apps I can connect with to expand my learning opportunities? I would like to know from the forum members if I can connect it to my iPad and access the Yamaha app called Notestar (and/or other apps) that would allow me to access and learn songs, beyond the onboard educational capability? I saw a couple of You Tube videos on Notestar and other apps but I wanted to make sure that my new PSR e363 is compatible with them.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Yes, you should be able to connect your PSR-E363 to an iPad. What version iPad do you have? With my old iPad 2, I have to use the Camera Connection Kit, but I think I remember seeing something about Apple changing the name for the later versions. Yamaha's web site should list the apps that will work with the PSR-E363.

Reaction score
Blueser
Michael

I have a full sized iPad 3, and it uses the large 32 pin connection and corresponding Camera Connection Kit. Use of the small 8 pin "Lightning" connector was introduced on the full sized iPad 4 and all of the iPad Minis.