Newbie and need some advice pls...

Reaction score
So i'm totally new at this and i enjoy to DJ, but lately I've been wanting to go in depths as to wanting to create my own music. I love to spin EDM music (house, electro house, techno house, etc) and I'd like to purchase some hardware. I know there are two types of hardware such as Synthesizer and Midi Controller. As a beginner i was browsing the net for something I could be happy with, however, there is a vast majority of options out there and i'm no expert at this so I figured i'd ask first. What can you guys recommend to point me in the right direction. While browsing, the first controller that popped up was the "Akai Professional MPK mini MKII" and I noticed it had a lot of good reviews, but when i went on youtube to check out its reviews, somebody said that the sound quality wasn't that great and that the software was difficult to install too. It also looks like a toy that could probably break easily which i'm not too convinced about. I want something decent that's gonna be good for me, but not too expensive or too bulki. Something between the $500 range since i'm just a beginner and perhaps i could possibly go up to $1000. So please help me choose the perfect hardware for me. Thank you guys!

Forgot to mention. Also, what is the best brand for either Synth or Midi Controller. I don't know if AKAI is good or if there is a better one.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
With a MIDI controller you are tied to either an ipad or a computer to generate your sounds. I'd recommend starting out with a small synth with micro keys if you are using it in a DJ EDM environment.