Problems recording Korg D1 audio using audio interface


Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Hi,

I bought an M-Audio Air 162/4 audio interface and I'm trying to record my Korg D1 using Abelton Live Lite or Pro Tools. In both cases the audio is distorted. Here is a video of the audio issue that occurs when I play the piano and record using Ableton:

And here is a Reddit thread where I include images of my Ableton settings: https://www.reddit.com/r/ableton/comments/g4gr96
According to one user on Reddit my settings are fine. He thinks it has something to do with the Korg D1. Does anyone know what might be the problem? I've been searching for an answer everywhere.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
3,099
Reaction score
1,976
Location
Lancashire, UK.
Welcome.

Do you get the same problem using Line 2 input?

Are you also using the D1 left output to feed the M Audio unit.

Typically the Left output is a mix of L&R if no plug is inserted into the Right output socket. I am not sure if this is the case with the D1 but the manual should tell you if you are as unsure as I.

The M Audio unit is intended for a Mike in Line 1 and a Guitar in Line 2.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I only have one cable so I haven't tried the line 2. The cable I have won't fit in the line 2. I'm using a 10 foot Hosa STX110M TRS - XLRM cable. I'm connecting it from the Line Out L/mono on the keyboard to the Line Input 1 on the 192/4. Maybe I'm using the wrong cable?
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
9,579
Reaction score
4,064
Location
GTA, Canada
It may be TS output instead of TRS. In all likelihood that should be it. Dunno if that would affect the sound though.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Welcome.

Do you get the same problem using Line 2 input?

Are you also using the D1 left output to feed the M Audio unit.

Typically the Left output is a mix of L&R if no plug is inserted into the Right output socket. I am not sure if this is the case with the D1 but the manual should tell you if you are as unsure as I.

The M Audio unit is intended for a Mike in Line 1 and a Guitar in Line 2.
Hi again. So I bought a TS cable and plugged it from the line out on the keyboard into the line 2 of the M-Audio. But in when I play notes the mix level in Ableton is greyed out and I can't hear any audio. See this video:


Here are the settings on my m-audio:

new.jpg


Do you have any idea what may be wrong this time?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
3,099
Reaction score
1,976
Location
Lancashire, UK.
Have you gone into the Settings in your iMac, specifically the Audio MIDI Setup to ensure that the signal path inside your iMac functions and the level settings are at an adjustment point that enables the software to work?

IMacs do not operate plug and play functionality as a Windows computer does, you frequently have to manually setup a device.

If the above does not function I would then be thinking that the issue is with the M-Audio unit which is intended for a Mike into Line 1 and a Guitar into Line 2.

Both these will have a different impedance and signal level compared to an interface unit which is intended for line output levels.

I would then buy another MIDI interface unit from a source where you can return it foc within 30 days. You could then check out your recording again using this device. A Behringer UMC204HD is what I use to connect my instruments up to my Windows Laptop. If you consider this route then please advise before you buy and I will give this unit of mine a test on my Wife’s iMac to see if I can get recording one of my instruments
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Have you gone into the Settings in your iMac, specifically the Audio MIDI Setup to ensure that the signal path inside your iMac functions and the level settings are at an adjustment point that enables the software to work?

IMacs do not operate plug and play functionality as a Windows computer does, you frequently have to manually setup a device.

If the above does not function I would then be thinking that the issue is with the M-Audio unit which is intended for a Mike into Line 1 and a Guitar into Line 2.

Both these will have a different impedance and signal level compared to an interface unit which is intended for line output levels.

I would then buy another MIDI interface unit from a source where you can return it foc within 30 days. You could then check out your recording again using this device. A Behringer UMC204HD is what I use to connect my instruments up to my Windows Laptop. If you consider this route then please advise before you buy and I will give this unit of mine a test on my Wife’s iMac to see if I can get recording one of my instruments
I changed the audio setting on the iMac so the M-Audio was set to both input and output. But the audio settings said it has no input controls. Not sure if that matters. The M-Audio is receiving a signal I just can't hear any audio when I play back. I'd be willing to buy a new unit, but I'm just surprised a keyboard won't work with this one. Maybe that is the problem though.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top