Questions about types of keyboards

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm new to the whole digital keyboard world.

I am currently using
  • mainstage with a macbook
  • an old Technics P30 (but I also have an old Roland A33) - I like old gear!
  • additional Native plugins
I love the P30 because of the keybed, the clean topdeck, but it has its own sounds and so I thought if the computer failed when playing out I'd have backup. The Roland is pure midi interface but light! So, one of my concerns is about weight, as I've got an old back injury that flares up if its cold and I've had this happen to me just before a gig when lifting gear (I used to be a bassist). So, I'm planning on light setup going fwd.

Questions:
  • are there keyboards that host their own libraries of sounds and internal processing, but can add libraries like the ones in Native?
  • should I invest in a keyboard that can do the mainstage thing (if this exists), or does mainstage just do it all the layering etc that much better?
Thanks for reading and any advice offered.

Reaction score
With weight an issue, you won't want to consider keyboards that feature weighted keys (resembling the touch of a piano), nor full-size (88 keys) models. (I assume that you have considered using something with wheels to move the keyboard between your car and the stage.)

I understand your use of "Native" as referring to maker "Native Instruments" of the "Komplete" software (synthesizers and effects) bundle and of the "Komplete Kontrol" keyboard controllers.

You may be interested in NI's S-line of keyboard controllers, probably the S-49 (with 49 keys). They are mere controllers (meaning: they don't themselves have sounds), but they feature a touchscreen that is useful when using Komplete software or software from others that follows "NKS" ("Native Kontrol Standard", see near the bottom of that page).

Hope This Helps. ;-)

Reaction score
Yes, there are such keyboards and with many of them you can add additional sounds.