Right Hand

Reaction score
Hi guys
I have been playing for about two years and feel its all going well, except one thing I am not sure about.
I can and do read music ok, but what gets me is I have noted that when a better player plays the same music, where I just play the single note with my right hand, as it is on the music , he uses more than one note (one finger) at a time in some places.
is they a general guide when you do this to get it to sound more solid.
Left hand is all ok with cords.
Thanks
Chris

Reaction score
You are probably using a so called 'fake book' sheet of music giving only a simple melody-line or the line of a solo-instrument like trumpet or a singer. These 'instruments' play only one tone at the time.
More advanged players on multitembral instruments like a piano or organ or indeed a keyboard can use more fingers to play the melody and give it a richer sound.
Hope this answers your question.

DickR

Reaction score
Hi Dick
Thanks very much for the info, yes some of my books are like that but I have started using downloaded piano Music now and this does seem to offer more in the way of a melody line, its just that I would like to add to it a bit more.

The Y_man

Reaction score
Chris, as a general starting point, you can start palying chords in places where you want emphasis with your RH.

Eg. if the meldoy note is an E and your LH is playing a C major chord, your can also play the C and the G notes BELOW the E you are playing with your RH.

Easier to show with pics actually - sorry if it's a bit confusing

The Y-man

Reaction score
Chris, as a general starting point, you can start palying chords in places where you want emphasis with your RH.

Eg. if the meldoy note is an E and your LH is playing a C major chord, your can also play the C and the G notes BELOW the E you are playing with your RH.

Easier to show with pics actually - sorry if it's a bit confusing

The Y-man