Roland Fantom G vs Yamaha Motif XS

Reaction score
I am studying music to become a composer and I already own a Roland FP-3 digital piano with a fantastic keyboard action and a very nice Grand piano sound.
However the sound quality other than the piano is very limited and I need much more sounds of good quality so I can start composing and train myself...:rolleyes:

I am thinking about purchasing a workstation and it seems that two products have retained my attention but I wouldn't know how to compare them:

Roland Fantom G and Yamaha Motif XS.

I need to be able to compose in any music style I want, so QUALITY, DIVERSITY, EASE OF USE would be the key words during the decision process.

Along with my Roland FP-3 I use a Powerbook G4 with Logic Express 7 :eek:

I don't know if I understand all the parameters that need to be taken into account but that is the best I can think of for the moment.:confused:

I would very much appreciate if some good heart could share his thoughts on the subject and compensate my lack of experience.:p

Thank you

Reaction score
They are simply comparable product offerings from the different companies. It really often boils down to personal preference as far as sounds and user interface.

Both systems offer similar full functional workstation capabilities and are wildly complex and "deep" from a feature standpoint.

Personally, I think the Roland user interface is superior to that of the Yamaha, however I also believe the Motif XS has the better sound set. These are simply my preferences.

At the end of the day, spend a lot of time with each one and see which one feels like an extension of your creative process than simply a tool.

I've owned both Roland Fantom's and Yamaha Motif ES, and I'm a Yammy guy all the way now.

Your mileage may vary.

Reaction score
Thanks for replying so fast :)

Tomorrow I will go try these keyboards and see if a special 'feel' develops itself with either one of them...as you said.