Studiologic SL-990

Reaction score
I have just been given a Studiologic SL-990 midi keyboard (keyboard only....no cables). I have been told that I need to connect this through a computer.

I have no experience with a midi keyboard or what exactly I need to do to be able to play the keyboard (get it to play sound).

I was originally looking to use it as a piano but didn't want to limit my options.

Should I just forget it and buy another keyboard (looking at the Roland JUNO DS88)?

or is there a simple option for me to use the midi keyboard?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
1) You need to hook it up to the computer's USB port with a USB AB Printer cable.

2) You need to download and install a freeware VSTi Host Program.

3) You need to download and install some freeware VSTi plugins.

Google all these terms if you need explanations.

4) You should be good to go and playing music at this point.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
1) You need to hook it up to the computer's USB port with a USB AB Printer cable.

2) You need to download and install a freeware VSTi Host Program.

3) You need to download and install some freeware VSTi plugins.

Google all these terms if you need explanations.

4) You should be good to go and playing music at this point.

Gary ;)

Gary

Thanks for the reply.

I don't have an AB connection on the back of the keyboard, just a midi out connection.

Regards

Jonathan

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
In that case only step 1 changes.

Get a USB to MIDI adapter and plug it in.

MIDI IN on the keyboard Connects to MIDI OUT on the adapter and vice versa.

Then follow the rest of the steps to make music.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
In that case only step 1 changes.

Get a USB to MIDI adapter and plug it in.

MIDI IN on the keyboard Connects to MIDI OUT on the adapter and vice versa.

Then follow the rest of the steps to make music.

Gary ;)

Gary