Tunning my Keyboard to E flat (Down 1/2 Step)

Reaction score
I'm new to electric keys and piano in general. I tune my guitars down 1/2 step. If standard tuning is 440hz, is tuning my keyboard down to 432hz going to tune me down, that same 1/2 step? Thanks for any insight.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Here is a hint: If your keyboard shows note A4 as 440 Hz, then lower that note to 415.305Hz. That will make the E one half step lower than standard tune.

Reaction score
Welcome.

Do read through your keyboards manual and physically look at the controls and through the menu system.

I am not meaning to be patronising but often if there are not djustment buttons obvious there is a tuning function burried in the menu.

On one of my kerboards there are two sets of two tuning buttons each with + and - under them, one set does an octave shift whilst the other a 1/2 step.

So it should be an easy and easily reversible action to retune and test play.

Out of curiosity can you explain how and why you tune your guitar down 1/2 step?

I can understand The Stones or Jimmy Page etc tunes but not 1/2 step

Reaction score
Welcome.

Do read through your keyboards manual and physically look at the controls and through the menu system.

I am not meaning to be patronising but often if there are not djustment buttons obvious there is a tuning function burried in the menu.

On one of my kerboards there are two sets of two tuning buttons each with + and - under them, one set does an octave shift whilst the other a 1/2 step.

So it should be an easy and easily reversible action to retune and test play.

Out of curiosity can you explain how and why you tune your guitar down 1/2 step?

I can understand The Stones or Jimmy Page etc tunes but not 1/2 step

The band tunes down for vocal reasons. Yes, My keys have the ability to change the hz, I just wasn't sure of the number.

Reaction score