400 000 MIDI files - now what?

Reaction score
I have collected almost 400 000 MIDI files over the years. They span every genre. Any ideas of what I can do with this? It would be nice to earn something but I don't want to create yet another site selling files... I was hoping for something different and unique. Any ideas? I am a programmer/developer and am able to create MIDI software.

Reaction score
Yeah. I've also collected them on/off for many years and have that many or more. Lately I started getting them more organised and spent some time wondering what I could do with them. It's hard to know really apart from just putting them up somewhere and watching what happens.

Reaction score
Yeah. I've also collected them on/off for many years and have that many or more. Lately I started getting them more organised and spent some time wondering what I could do with them. It's hard to know really apart from just putting them up somewhere and watching what happens.
Hi aprilla,

Thanks for the reply. My thoughts are that anyone with a collection like this would put it up somewhere "as-is", and I am sure there are a lot of people who can use the files. But I was thinking of doing something different - like extracting just the drum tracks and making a library of them, or grabbing samples out of the files and making a collection for people wanting to make remixes of existing music. And so on... I've put a lot of effort into collecting them and would like it to benefit more than just me. As for the sorting - I tried to sort them best I could and eventually gave up. The existing names are terrible and sometimes just a bunch of meaningless letters. If you have any tracks you're looking for then feel free to PM me and I can DropBox them for you. There's a very wide range of files here. I like the 80's and 90's most but also some oldies here and there. I play them on my Krome EX just for fun and relaxation.

Reaction score