ADSR Question

Reaction score
For this last Christmas, I purchased a Yamaha beginner keyboard (model PSR E463). The only effects that it supports are Chorus, EQ, and Reverb. It supports MIDI standards GM and XGlite and standard MIDI file (SMF) Format 0, 1 (Record).

It allows for a split keyboard, where different voices can be used. I'm used to playing SUSTAINED organ chords with my left hand, but there is no provision to directly accomplish this with the standard voices in the keyboard itself. Each voice has its own built-in ADSR envelope.

I'm new to DAWs and VSTs, but the keyboard can export audio voices in either .WAV or MIDI formats to an external device (e.g. computer).

My question is this. After I export a MIDI file (containing a voice that I want to modify), is there an affordable DAW which will allow me to modify the ADSR envelope?

At this time I just want to create a couple of modified voices where the sustain section of the envelope is set to "infinity," so the amplitude of the note is sustained fully until the key is released.

That would seemingly allow me to play sustained chords (with a modified voice) with my left hand.

I realize that you don't have this keyboard, but any general advice to my question and approach is much appreciated. TIA!

Reaction score
ADSR is not part of the MIDI data, so no, it cannot be altered after the fact. What you could do is play the MIDI file back to some other sound generating source (e.g. a VST) where you could alter the sound. That said, I'm surprised that any organ sound you could play in your E463 does not in fact sustain for as long as you hold the key down.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
See my answer to this question in the other thread you posted it in.

Like I said in the other thread, there may be Sysex commands that allow you to do this but it would take a hell of a lot of work to get it just right.

Gary ;)

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score