Best keyboard under $1000

Reaction score
I am currently an intermediate level piano player and am looking to purchase a new keyboard. I started playing on a Casio Ctk-4200 which is a entry level piano with 61 keys. It was perfect to learn the fundamentals but now I feel like I need more keys as well as better sounds. At this point I would like to spend less than $1000 on a solid keyboard. I am looking to keep it long term so I want to make the correct choice. Ive been looking at the Yamaha MX88 as well as the Korg Kross but they both look quite old and am unsure if I should consider them. Ive heard that 88 weighted keys are essential. I also need it to be reasonably portable I am open to buying used keyboards if it is worth it. Thanks!

Reaction score
CTK-4200 has speakers, the boards you mentioned do not. Do you have something to play them through? If not, your budget will also have to include some kind of amplification.

And am I correct in assuming you're interested in a wide variety of sounds? (not just mostly piano sounds)

Reaction score
If you're going to use the new keyboard as a PIANO, then discard your interest in ANY of the keyboards with LESS than 76 keys. To the best of my knowledge/experience, there are NO 61-key boards that have weighted keys. You would/should want weighted keys.

Personally, I've always been something of a Yamaha "bigot" and for a budget 88-key, the Yamaha P-125 is a great keyboard and well under your budget threshold. Other manufacturers also make decent 88-key boards, but in my opinion, Yamaha's piano SOUNDS are hard to beat. My "other piano" is a Baldwin SF-10. Started playing in 1951!

Avoid the X-stands and avoid the $15 sustain pedals. If you're going to travel with whatever, depend on Gator bags.

Just my $0.02!
Dave

Reaction score