Fx pedals

Reaction score
Hey, new to forums. I've been playing for a while and am finally playing in a band. We play some songs where I have to switch sounds or fx in the middle of playing and I'm just wondering if they have pedals for that so I don't have to press buttons while playing. Someone told me to use a guitar pedal but as far as I know there aren't guitar pedals that have organ effects etc. I'm also looking for one where I can have choices while I play, maybe organ for one section of a song then regular piano for another section, then maybe violins. I have a korg sp200 if it matters. Anyway, if anyone knows if a pedal like this exists please let me know. I've been looking online but haven't found anything.

Reaction score
First of all, welcome to the forums! I don't feel that I am an expert at all of this, but I'll do my best to help you out!

In theory, it is totally possible to run your keyboard through a bunch of pedals and such (just like you would a guitar). However, I wouldn't recommend it. As far as the sounds that you can achieve with guitar pedals, the sky is pretty much the limit. With a lot of tweaking and experimenting you can create any sound you want (including an organ-like sound). One problem with using pedals to obtain your sound is practicality. It's not practical for a keyboardist to have a ton of pedals that he is paying attention to live, while playing all the different parts assigned to him in a song. Another problem is the fact that you really don't hear of many keyboardists using this method, which would imply that it isn't the best route to go. I do know, however, that using reverb/overdrive/delay pedals is common in the professional keyboardist world.