Good sheet music software

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I've been playing the keyboard for a couple of months now. I'm learning using "SimplyPiano" on my phone. No doubt not the best method, but lessons arent an option right now, and I am definitely improving. To let you know where I am, I've been doing chords and notes in both the C and F positions on the right hand, with the relevant basenotes on the left, and I've just started moving the left hand into the F position too, so still very early on. When playing songs on the app ive found the scrolling music score is really easy to follow, particularly seeing as I'm using my phone so having a whole sheet on the screen wouldn't work. Are there apps that can do this with either a midi file or with a music score uploaded, so I can play other songs I find? Anyone got any tips on the best way to go about this, or tips in general?

Thanks a lot

Reaction score
Welcome Anton.

Learning on an iPhone will be a bit restrictive due to the small screen size.

If you have an iPad all the better since most of the Apps do tend to have a page or partial page of music displayed and a foot operated bluetooth controller can be used to advance the sheet music. Typically the sheet music is displayed and the play along cursor moves along the score at a fixed but adjustable rate hence the Apps are not best suited for a phone, the bigger the tablet the better.

Check out the Apps:- OnSong, Piascore, forscore and Sheet Music.

Continue doing what you are doing and add a chord at a time but do learn the correct fingering techniques.

I would suggest that you learn C, D minor, E minor, F, G, Am and B diminished but this one is not so well used. Then learn the majors of the minors you have learned & then the seventh’s.

Most pop type songs have a structured format of the form 1, 4, 5 so in the key of C that would be C, F, and G. Many songs are 1,5, 4 so that becomes C, G, F with chords 2, 3 and 6 being included in the song to add dynamics.