Keyboard Rig Pics


Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
664
Reaction score
604
I'm not sure where my Presonus StudioLive mixer is built but it appears to be Baton Rouge! Of course there will be chinese components but what can you do. The same as my Moog Grandmother.
I bet your new synth feels like it's built like a tank!
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
12,084
Reaction score
5,012
Location
GTA, Canada
Build quality is up to my Kurzweil's standards. It is a brick. And the user interface is so simple and streamlined. 128 Factory presets and 128 user slots. And the factory presets are GOOD. Single function knobs and controls everywhere and it sounds like a Prophet 5. Plus, a step sequencer that's so easy it's child's play to set up a sequence.

I am SOOOOO happy I got this instead of the Prologue. The modulation matrix on the Sequential is just so much more flexible and superior.

This is a player's synth that's snarling one second and twittering the next.

The Fatar keybed has aftertouch.

Pick the right voiicing and arp and suddenly you are Rick Wakeman or Brian Eno.

I'll try and record a quickie with it later this week and post it.

Gary ;)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
12,084
Reaction score
5,012
Location
GTA, Canada
Here's a quick and dirty jam using the Sequential for the bassline, DR-880 for drums and Juno DS for lead.


Gary ;)

<Edit> I'll try something with the Wavestate and the Sequential tomorrow...
 
Last edited:

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
12,084
Reaction score
5,012
Location
GTA, Canada
Having a hoot, but I still have to dig a bit thru the manuals. Especially with the Korg.

I've printed them out already but still have to bind them.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
664
Reaction score
604
Having a hoot, but I still have to dig a bit thru the manuals. Especially with the Korg.

I've printed them out already but still have to bind them.

Gary ;)
That's one of the things that drives me batty! Manuals! Hate 'em but need 'em. I guess it's my old curmudgeony side showing. I just wann twist knobs and play!
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
12,084
Reaction score
5,012
Location
GTA, Canada
That's one of the things that drives me batty! Manuals! Hate 'em but need 'em. I guess it's my old curmudgeony side showing. I just wann twist knobs and play!

That's what I've been doing for the past week and half, but there's still a lot of stuff I haven't totally figured out.. Especially with the Wavestate and MIDI.

Hell I had to install a firmware update to fix the latch issue and the latch button is the stupidest thing I've ever seen. It takes TWO HANDS to activate. I'd love to punch out the genius who thought it would be a good idea to make the latch a shifted function. :eek: :p :mad:

I mean the whole point of the board is to create evolving arpeggios you set and forget.

The sequential has a single, dedicated, hold button directly above G2, where you can toggle it without skipping a beat.

Anyway, once I've read the manuals I'll have to create some cakewalk INS files to integrate them into my workflow.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
664
Reaction score
604
That's what I've been doing for the past week and half, but there's still a lot of stuff I haven't totally figured out.. Especially with the Wavestate and MIDI.

Hell I had to install a firmware update to fix the latch issue and the latch button is the stupidest thing I've ever seen. It takes TWO HANDS to activate. I'd love to punch out the genius who thought it would be a good idea to make the latch a shifted function. :eek: :p :mad:

I mean the whole point of the board is to create evolving arpeggios you set and forget.

The sequential has a single, dedicated, hold button directly above G2, where you can toggle it without skipping a beat.

Anyway, once I've read the manuals I'll have to create some cakewalk INS files to integrate them into my workflow.

Gary ;)
Reading about you going on about aprs and things made me think about an old tune that I did on my King Korg. Then I looked it up and was surprised to see that it had 485 plays on SoundCloud!

https://soundcloud.com/jeremykeys%2Fking-korg-1
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
12,084
Reaction score
5,012
Location
GTA, Canada
Ok, here's a 1 1/2 minute jam with the Wavestate, the Take 5, the Juno DS and the DR-880 drum box.

Enjoy :)


And here's what my living room studio looks like now after a huge redecorating binge. :)

gary-plantation-20211014T082436-0002.jpeg


I think the music helps the plants grow :D

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
664
Reaction score
604
Ok, here's a 1 1/2 minute jam with the Wavestate, the Take 5, the Juno DS and the DR-880 drum box.

Enjoy :)


And here's what my living room studio looks like now after a huge redecorating binge. :)

View attachment 2491

I think the music helps the plants grow :D

Gary ;)
Very nice indeed! Love all the light that you get. I only have one little window and the massive trees next door block out most of the light. That and the fackt that it faces north. No room for plants either. However, I do get cats now and then.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
12,084
Reaction score
5,012
Location
GTA, Canada
Just did up the flowchart...

Flowchart-b-studio-2021.jpg



Very nice indeed! Love all the light that you get. I only have one little window and the massive trees next door block out most of the light. That and the fackt that it faces north. No room for plants either. However, I do get cats now and then.


Is it any wonder I spend more time these days recording in the living room than in the bedroom studio with all my other gear? :D :D :D

Gary ;)
studio-b-2021-0001.jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
664
Reaction score
604
Just did up the flowchart...

View attachment 2492





Is it any wonder I spend more time these days recording in the living room than in the bedroom studio with all my other gear? :D :D :D

Gary ;)View attachment 2493
Nice wiring diagram! It's not something that I do but I probably should. Me, I just find a hole and stick some thing in! And see what happens!
My mixer has little LCD screens above each channel so I can label each channel as I see fit. I can also do virtual connections and change the labels. It's a mix based system and since I can have up to 16 mixes, I can have 16 routing systems. Every input can be directed to where ever I want. Inputs 1 to 8 are purely XLR but 9 to 16 are 1/4 inch or XLR. Balanced or not. Since I need more than 8 line inputs I'm going to have to use a couple of stereo direct boxes but that's okay. It's all in the name of making music and having fun!
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
12,084
Reaction score
5,012
Location
GTA, Canada
Nice wiring diagram! It's not something that I do but I probably should. Me, I just find a hole and stick some thing in! And see what happens!
My mixer has little LCD screens above each channel so I can label each channel as I see fit. I can also do virtual connections and change the labels. It's a mix based system and since I can have up to 16 mixes, I can have 16 routing systems. Every input can be directed to where ever I want. Inputs 1 to 8 are purely XLR but 9 to 16 are 1/4 inch or XLR. Balanced or not. Since I need more than 8 line inputs I'm going to have to use a couple of stereo direct boxes but that's okay. It's all in the name of making music and having fun!

I don't understand? The XLR inputs on both my mixers, the Yamaha and the Mackie, are the type with the centre 1/4" hole and can handle any sort of input from line levels to guitars to mics with or without phantom power,

There should be no need for DI boxes. I only use 1 DI box on the Yamaha for the connection to the computer to eliminate some stray hum.

You may wanna check your manual to see if the inputs can be switched.

Gary ;)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top