Roland FA 06 Owner with Velocity Problems Black vs. White

Reaction score
Hi folks first post here. i bough a used Roland FA 06 and i love the keyboard , but the key bed has inconsistencies between the black and white keys. controlling it with another board fixes the issue but i want to be able to use the key bed. it appears roland added a +15 velocity on the black keys and the result is unfortunate for owners. Heres a post from the roland clan forums of a gentleman who fixed this issue by running a midi solutions velocity converter. apparently with this device one can fix this issue. http://forums.rolandclan.com/viewtopic.php?t=49133 the forum is riddled with distain for this issue, i tracked down the one man who found a solution on a 7 year old post thats it.

my question : is there any other way i can achieve this ? would you guys recommend this midi solutions device? midi solutions also carries a Event Processor wonder if that will work. Anyways im a midi noob but a willingness to learn to fix my top board in my studio i will figure this out. Any wisdom i greatly appreciate :)

also need likley need mergers if im using the FA 06s midi in and out to loop a unit that fixes my problem,

also my gear is Roland FA 06 , Yamaha MODX6 , and a Roland SC 8850.

Reaction score
As it would appear to be a Roland firmware issue I would think that you need to address this question directly with Roland technical. Not much we are going to be able to offer you as a solution other than something like the midi solutions box that was already mentioned in your post. Also, I would doubt that Roland would go through the exercise to release a firmware update for a keyboard that is nearly 7 years old. Might be time to sell the keyboard while it still has a decent market value and look to something else.

Reaction score