Upgrading from Casio CT-S300?

Reaction score
Newbie here thinking of upgrading from my Casio CT-S300 'cos I'm getting frustrated by some aspects of it so I'm in need of suggestions. This is for home use only by an adult beginner with a wide taste in music types and styles but not into much at all produced after 1980ish (!). Compared to my Casio, I'd like to ...

Be able to assign at least five different groups of settings each to a dedicated button which instantly applies those settings

Add effects/modify the sound to some extent (e.g. add chorus/echo or whatever, maybe some kind of filter for use with synth sounds?)

Choose a voice faster than having to use a scroll wheel to go through 400 or so options

Have more flexibilty with accompaniments (i.e. more variations on each style)

Maybe record to USB?

Budget will only just stretch to around 300GBP, and at present I'm torn between the Korg EK50 and the Yamaha E463 (or the 473 which I understand has just replaced it), so ... which of those two would be my best bet on the face of it, and should I be considering anything else?

Last point to note is that I'm in effect housebound so can't get to a shop to try anything out.

Reaction score
Tell me about it! I've spent most of today on the internet and getting really pigged off with a certain music shop in Bolton who listed the EK50 "in stock", took the money off me, then finally rang me back twice after three messages from me to tell me they hadn't got one after all. What a totally useless outfit!

Anyhow, I now have one on order from Lincoln. Or rather I might have. The order's currently showing "not shipped" and "payment error" despite me having proof that the payment's gone through, so I'm rather hoping for the courtesy of a response early tomorrow to the email I've sent querying wtf.

I dunno. I want to buy an EK50 and presumably Korg would be happy for me to do that, so why do the shops make the process such a PITA?

Reaction score