What is a MIDI Controller?

Reaction score
I am really new to the different "addons" to keyboards and pianos and I was wondering what a MIDI Controller is.

Reaction score
it's a keyboard you use to control another keyboard or a module or your PC.

You can use your keyboard as a controller (has sounds in it but when used as a controller it plays sounds from another keyboard/module/rack/PC), or buy a midi controller only (no on board sounds).

This is done via MIDI cables (IN/OUT) or via USB cable.

Hope i was a bit helpful. If you have any more questions feel free to ask :)

Reaction score
Main thing you have to know...

If you don't have a keyboard you DON'T buy a controller :)
Cause it has no on-board sounds, and you have to plug it into somewhere.

Yes, you could use your PC and some VST plug-ins but that's just extra money
you have to spend, and all together you could've bought a plain keyboard.

MIDI Controllers are very often used in studios. You buy the keyboard controller
and fill the room with racks or sound modules (those are just sounds from a specific keyboard, nothing else) and just plug the controller into one of them and start recording.

For example

This master controller (M-audio Keystation pro88)
Keystation_Pro_88.jpg

plus a rack of some sort... (Triton Rack)
KORGTRITONRACK.jpg

would give you the same thing as this - Korg Triton proX

triton%7E1.jpg

You have 88 weighted keys as your controller, and all the sounds and the effects of the Triton in that little box :)

Reaction score
The modules are bought to give more sounds and effects to your keyboard, yes. The MIDI controllers are bought to tell the modules what notes to play, and how long, while the modules gives the notes a sound, like Piano or Strings.