What is DAW

Reaction score
Is a DAW an alternative for the old methodology of music production wherein "in a studio there lie a line of violinists, guitarists, keyboardists and drummers who perform on the instructions of the composer and a singer sings inside the glass room"?
As I am new to DAW, could anyone explain the actual usefulness of the DAW?

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
In today's parlance, a DAW ("Digital Audio Workstation") is a computer program that's used to record, mix, and produce music, but I think the term originally referred to a physical workstation for working with digital audio (as opposed to analog audio).

Modern DAW software generally combines several types of functions-- recording and editing audio tracks, recording and editing MIDI tracks, transmitting MIDI data sequences to external devices to control them, playing virtual instruments, hosting third-party plugins, applying effects to audio and MIDI tracks, processing tracks in various ways (such as compression, filtering, and equalization), balancing the relative volumes and stereo panning of the tracks, and of course mixing everything down to a finished audio file.