Buzzing sound/clipping - how to avoid?

Reaction score
Hi again.

I'm using Cubase 5 and am still just learning to use it, and in general I'm very new to all this. So far, everything has been going fine, but now I've run into a problem that I'm not sure how to solve.
Thing is, I was starting to get the hang of composing some tracks, but just when it was about to get real fun, a very abrupt loud, unpleasant buzz decided to put a stop to it. Now, I know that the red square is a sign of clipping and that the meters should not raise up till or above the yellow level, but how do I avoid this?

I've tried lowering the sound on all virtual instruments to at least under -6dB (actually much lower), and I've put the level control (overall sound in Cubase) down - all this helps, but then I have to turn up my own computer volume to its absolute maximum. Now, I really am not comfortable with this, as I am used to switching between Internet and Cubase, and if I ever forget turning down the volume... I think you can guess what would happen. I've already tried this two times, and it's really unpleasant and also directly dangerous to my ears. Also, I'm pretty sure that the buzz volume increases when I do this. I do NOT intend to even risk experiencing this noise ANY louder than I already have. Even if I have all the volume on the tracks very low, how can I not be sure that I won't reach the threshold again when adding more and more tracks?
Are there really no other way? I don't even understand why I have to put the volume that low in Cubase when I can just turn up the volume on my own computer, and then it's no problem?