Chord changes

Reaction score
Hi,

As indicated in a previous post I am a novice keyboard player. Nevertheless, I play with a lot of enthusiasm but often have cause to question my talent or potential lack of it. As such, I am often tempted to take up Origami or synchronised swimming. The following is an example of an area I am struggling with:

I am practicing a well known Sinatra song, time 4/4, key of F. There is a passage which requires a cord change in every bar for seven bars (Gm, Gm7b5, F, Dm7, Gm7, C7, F), my chord fingering is traditional piano. Now after several hours of practice I still make errors playing the chords and in many instances find myself a beat or two behind.

Consequently, I wonder how you professional or semi pros approach an issue such as this.

Cheers,

Rafferty

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
Have you tried Chord inversions?

The keys for chords C7, F and Dm7 are all very close to each other in the diversion mode. Usually just one finger displacement does it.
For example, play F chord as A C F rather than F A C. . This way a quick change to a Dm is a matter of A D F. You see the C becomes D as you keep the thumb and pinky on the A and F. (left hand).

This is just one example but I find quick chord changes are much easier using the diversion method.

You asked for pro and semi pro help. But you know I am neither. Just a self taught individual. So if what I said does not help you then just be aware my suggestion is a personal opinion and not necessarily authodox. But I hope it helps.

BTW .. What is the Sinatra song you are playing?

Ray

Reaction score
In addition to Ray's excellent advice about using chord inversions to maintain economy of motion, I would say "keep practicing every day". After a while the chords and inversions become second nature and you don't have to think about them.

Reaction score
Another one here who supports the chord inversion advice.