Juno DS88 Sympathetic Resonance effect?

Reaction score
I'm a novice at setting up sounds. Some time back I made performances on my Juno DS88, one with the feature GrandDS piano patch and strings. Use it all the time, with the slider to bring the parts up and down, and the filter knob to make it sound like a pad. But I digress. I have noticed that in the perf, even with the strings all the way down the piano seems to sound fuller somehow. I didn't do anything with perf effects, at least not intentionally. Yesterday I finally found the gumption to look in those menus and found two effects on the perf; I think they apply to the whole perf. One is EQ, a bit of bass boost. The other is "78:Sympathetic Resonance". What is that? I mean, I know what it is in an acoustic sense, and I know there are keyboards that feature string sympathetic resonance, but I don't think the Juno has that. Do you guys know about this effect?

Thanks! Jeremy

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Check that Parameter Guide I mentioned in your other thread. On page 57 it mentions this effect, which is exactly what you suspected it is.

I don't know why manufacturers don't include all of the really important information in the box anymore-- well, I do know, because they're trying to save trees, reduce paper usage, and save on printing costs, not necessarily in that order of importance-- but one thing I highly recommend is going to the websites for all of your keyboards and downloading every document and manual that's available, even the ones that you already have in printed form. It's so much easier to find specific information in a manual when you can search for a particular word or phrase.

Reaction score
Cool, I'll check it out, thanks Gruff!
But I wonder why that parameter isn't ON by default in the feature piano patch?

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score