Mid-level Arranger Keyboard

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am in the market for a mid-level arranger keyboard. I just started learning to play the piano at the first of the year and I own the Korg EK50. I am 72 years old and will primarily be playing at home. As I improve I might occasionally play at church or at local assisted care facilities. I have pretty much narrowed it down to 3 instruments but I am open to additional suggestions, both new and used. The 3 keyboards currently at the top of my list (with pros and cons) are:

Korg PA700
Lots of flexibility editing sounds and styles (which comes with a steeper learning curve)
The price of this Korg keyboard and the Yamaha are at about the top of my budget (about $1500 US)
Korg build quality and ecosystem

Medeli AKX10
About half the cost of the other 2 at $700 US
Not currently available but scheduled to ship in July or August
More user memory space but no ecosystem to get sounds and styles to fill up the memory
Questionable build quality
Sounds and styles may not be as good as the other 2 (these differences may not be quite as important to me as they would to a professional player)

Yamaha PSR SX700
Similar operation and editing capability to Medeli so more gentle learning curve than the Korg
Yamaha build quality and ecosystem

Thanks very much in advance for any advice.

Bill

Reaction score
There is a lesser Yamaha model in the SX600.

As you have a Korg you should find the transition to a 700 pretty straight forward as there is commonality in the OS between the models.

The quality arranger market products is very limited, Yamaha Genos, the SX range 900, 700 & 600, Korg Pa4X, Pa 1000, Pa700 and the older Pa600 & 300 and that is basically it.

There are a couple of very old Roland models and also there is the Ketron range from a similar model to the Medeli to one as expensive as the Genos.