Why is getting gigs SO HARD?!

rm5

Reaction score
Please feel free to remove this if it's somehow against the rules.

Let me preface this by saying that I am not a beginner. To some people, I'm at a moderately high level in terms of my technical ability and repertoire knowledge.

I'm becoming more and more frustrated by how hard it's becoming for me to get even a $50 jazz gig, it's a little ridiculous. I live in a city with a very good music scene with a LOT of good musicians. It is not a large city; it only has around 600,000 people. Because of this, I understand that the competition is a bit more intense, with only a small (compared to many larger cities) selection of venues.

There are three places that come to mind that I can call "safe"—meaning that they're reliable in giving me work. Thus, I've performed at these three places a whole bunch, and I enjoy doing so. But then there are all these other venues. I've been looking at where other people are playing, and I've taken to contacting some of those places to see if they'll oblige. Unfortunately, 95% of them have not. I understand that this is somewhat typical. I've made a list of venues I've contacted (and that I have yet to contact), which totals around 40 venues. There are 25 that I've contacted, and around 15 that I still need to write to/call. I started to make this list in the summer, keep in mind.