beginner keyboard/synt?

Reaction score
Hello all,

For a while i've been looking for a keyboard, which i want to use to make some nice 'heavy' beats with. I was in doubt if i should get a MIDI controller or a Synth, but from what i've read a synthesizer fits my wishlist better since i can create sounds with the device itself rather than having to use files on the pc (did i understand this correct?).

Could anyone tell me what to pay attention to when i (a starter) go buy a synth? Do you have any recommendations what to get?

Kind regards

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
What's your budget? What's your skill level? Are you planning to use this on the road or only in the studio?

Reaction score
i am a beginner, this will be my first keyboard/syntesizer, therefore i would like to start with something not so expensive (maximum 350 dollar). i mainly want to make simple beats. i want to use this at home, but i prefer placing it on my desk and not on a standard to begin with.

hope that's enough info :)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
If you shop around for close to the $400 mark you could pick up something like the Casio XW-P1 or the Microkorg or a Novation MiniNova or an M-Audio Venom.

http://www.amazon.com/Casio-XWP1-Ke...?ie=UTF8&qid=1371060671&sr=8-1&keywords=xw-p1

http://www.amazon.com/M-Audio-Venom...e-Interface/dp/B004J96JTO/ref=pd_sim_sbs_MI_1

http://www.amazon.com/Novation-Mini...=1371060875&sr=1-1&keywords=novation+mininova

http://www.amazon.com/Korg-microKor...UTF8&qid=1371060921&sr=1-1&keywords=microkorg

Check out the reviews of each of these on Google and Youtube to get a better idea on which one has the best features you want.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Just for disclosure's sake, I currently own an XW-P1 and a Venom and sold off a Microkorg XL to pay for the XW-P1.