Help another newb find the right keyboard!

Reaction score
In my band, I play guitar and keys. Now, I am a guitarist first and foremost, nowhere near a keyboard virtuoso. I can, however, bang out the chords on a piano/organ/and similar, and play some simply melody lines. I am mainly using the keys as a way to add textures and sometimes to use a crazy synth pad for pedal tones or something. Also, it helps me and the other guitarist from stepping all over each other sometimes
tongue.gif
. Despite my lack of technical proficiency, I am playing keys about 50% of the time.

I've been using a Roland Juno (not sure of the model number). It's a rental

Things I don't like about it......

Lots of sounds, way more than I need.

Can't find a piano sound I can really meld with. None of them sound "warm" or "organic" enough.... quite a bit sterile. Same issue with the strings.

I did learn my way around the Juno, but it's a pain to customize. Way too many menu settings. They don't overwhelm me, they're just tedious. For example, if I want to save about 12 patches, I have to save each one to the user slot in the correct category (piano/organ/strings/brass/etc) as user setting 1/2/3 and then rename them. So I just saved them all in the piano category, no matter what they are, and gave them names like "SongA1", "SongA2", "SongA3", "SongB", "SongC1", "SongC2", "SongD", etc. This allows me to quickly access the patches I want. However, it's tedious to setup and this is not the way the Juno is designed to be used.

Also, the effects have to be set and cannot be tweaked in a live setting. For example, delay can't be tapped in (even though the keyboard has a tap tempo button), but is whatever time you set it to

Not a bad keyboard by any means and it's more than useable. But I want something simpler yet better sounding. What I would like:

1) Piano/Organ/Strings sounds primarily, with a few wacky things thrown in for fun.