Keyboards in Doom/Gothic

Reaction score
Hey all,
I've a question for you people. Even a discussion issue, actually.
I've been playing on keyboard for many years (except the late few, due to service in the army).
A couple of friends of mine started a Doom/Goth band (main influences: Draconian, Tristania, Lacuna Coil, Within Temptation, Dakrua) and asked me to play on the keyboard with them.
Thing is - Although I'm a constant listener to the influences listed above, I'm having a hard time making up my mind about the way I want my parts to be located and played. Every time we play some new song, I find myself suggesting ideas that actually keep the keyboards out of this :)

How do you thing keyboards should sound like in Doom/Gothic? Atmospheric? Symphonic? Leading?
I'm sort of confused with the 'rules' of the genre, since I'm a prog listener originally.

Reaction score
Other than playing lead parts, keyboards are generally more of a background instrument, at least in a band setting where you've got lead vocals and guitar.

I don't know the genre, but from your post, I suspect that your problem isn't so much what to play in a Doom/Gothic band but how to play in a guitar-driven band *in general*. If you're suggesting ideas and realizing they don't work, you're either suggesting the wrong things, or don't have the skills or gear to pull off what you suggest (so the suggestions are good, but what you're doing to make them real isn't working with the band).