Question about midi with a digital piano.

Reaction score
I have an old Yamaha P-120 DP. The action on it is definitely hurting these days and I can't find a newer DP with the same sound. I am a newb when it comes to things about midi. Is it possible to use another keyboard but have the same sounds as the P120? It has midi in and out. I'm really curious about this maybe someone can help me. Thanks.

edit: I have an audio interface with midi in and out too, if that mean anything.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
According to the Owner's Manual, the P-120 has a MIDI In port and a MIDI Out port, so all you should need is a MIDI cable and a MIDI keyboard controller that has a MIDI Out port. Connect the controller's MIDI Out to the P-120's MIDI In and you should be able to use the controller to play the P-120.

Reaction score
According to the Owner's Manual, the P-120 has a MIDI In port and a MIDI Out port, so all you should need is a MIDI cable and a MIDI keyboard controller that has a MIDI Out port. Connect the controller's MIDI Out to the P-120's MIDI In and you should be able to use the controller to play the P-120.
Okay that's awesome, thanks! One other question if i may. I also have a Yamaha P-45 and it has a usb midi would I be able to use this as the midi controller?

SeaGtGruff

Reaction score
Not directly-- you'd need to connect both keyboards to a computer and use the computer as a go-between. If you want to directly connect two keyboards together and use one to control the other, they should both have MIDI DIN ports.

Reaction score
Not directly-- you'd need to connect both keyboards to a computer and use the computer as a go-between. If you want to directly connect two keyboards together and use one to control the other, they should both have MIDI DIN ports.