Can I have Reaper Midi play multiple instruments in my Kawai es110?

Reaction score
Noob here. I have a Kawai es110 that I use to practice piano, and as a MIDI input into Reaper through a MAudio One MIDI to USB converter. Using the MIDI hardware output in Reaper, I've had it play the piano track through the es110. However, I wondered if it is possible to have reaper access and play other es110 sounds at the same time? Organ, Elec. Piano, Strings, Drums. Any idea if this is possible and if so how?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
It should be easily doable as long as the ES110 is multitimbral.

You would, however, require a cakewalk INS file for your instrument.

Reaper uses cakewalk script files to assign instrument voices to each track same as cakewalk does.

In the meantime you can assign GM voices to the board until you locate an INS file for your board, but you'll only be able to use the 128 GM instruments.

Be advised that Track / Channel 10 is reserved for drums and percussion.

EDIT >>> I just hunted down the Kawai specs and am sorry to say it won't even do General MIDI. It's anybody's guess if it can handle multitimbral voicing as well.

It's a beginner's instrument lacking a lot of basic MIDI functionality.

You'd probably be better off using it as a controller for VST instruments in Reaper instead.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Disappointing. I'm not sure what you mean by multitimbral. Not polyphny? The es110 has 192 polyphony. I believe it does/can play multiple instruments at once Strings/organ/Piano but it accessed from a combination of keys and buttons. I was hoping the was a way to access them from reaper. Thanks.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Polytimbral or Multitimbral means the ability to play multiple instrument voicings on multiple MIDI channels simultaneously.