Keyboard Rig Pics


Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
1,454
Reaction score
1,235
Virtual Tonewheel. Personally I wouldnt see the point of a controller and modle just for one type of sound - ie organ. Just get a light virtual organ.

If you would use the controller for other things - maybe for several modules then yeh - but just for organs?
Ah right. I don’t use virtual instruments I’m strictly a hardware guy.

I play a mountain of organ sounds and I’m looking for a bit more versatility in that regard.

I could get a dedicated clone wheel but not really keen to spend that amount of money. I’d rather just rehabilitate an old ‘board.

Haven’t really decided the path yet, things may well stay as they are.
 
Ad

Advertisements

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,597
Reaction score
3,221
Living room is a whole 'nother schematic. :D

I should do one up for the bedroom as well ;)

Gary ;)
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,597
Reaction score
3,221
Thanks Jeremy. I'm totally digging some of the crazy Eurorack sounds. :)

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
282
Reaction score
335
Cool! You;'ll have to let us hear some of what you're up too when you can. Have fun!
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,597
Reaction score
3,221
Well the knob twiddling doesn't record in a MIDI sequence so I'll have to learn a new workflow in order to achieve all the weird timbres on the final audio recording and mixdown. My ancient version of Cakewalk doesn't record audio tracks, only MIDI.

But I honestly recommend a Neutron to anyone who really wants to try old school analog funkiness. :)

It's cheap and it sounds amazing :oops:

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
282
Reaction score
335
I'm not 100% certain, but I think the DAW Reaper is free and it does record audio.
It's worth checking out anyway.
 

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,597
Reaction score
3,221
I've worked with Reaper under Linux before. I hate the interface.

If I have to I can always run Ardour or Audacity to record multitrack.

Somehow though, I always find myself going back to my trusty old version of cakewalk.

Gary ;)
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
102
Reaction score
67
Church rig yesterday. As worship leader (rotating), I had the bad luck of picking songs that were drum/bass heavy, and then our two drummers and two bass players being gone. So the single Motif (belongs to the church) ran bass and drum tracks, while I had my two-keyboard stack (my normal setup) and the church baby Grand. We also had a saxophonist, another keyboardist, and four singers including the other keyboardist and myself.

One and a half hours to get this set up on Wednesday. Had to move the piano and church keyboard, set up my keyboards, and set up monitoring, wiring, ergonomics, and music.

So worship leader + short on musicians = this :D:





(Happyrat's favorite style of picture...)





Edit: Changed last pic to smaller version; original didn't seem to work.
 
Last edited:

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Joined
May 30, 2012
Messages
7,597
Reaction score
3,221
Awesome looking rig. Worthy of a Herbie Hancock or a Chick Corea.

I hope you're doing it justice. :)

Gary ;)
 

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
1,980
Reaction score
1,539
Nice layout.
Second pic shows a cup of coffee (top of pic). That makes all the difference. lol Ray.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
102
Reaction score
67
Nice layout.
Second pic shows a cup of coffee (top of pic). That makes all the difference. lol Ray.
:D That belonged to our saxophonist. I don't have liquids around keyboards if I can help it. :cool: Picture's taken from above, in reality that piano bench with the cup is a ways away and lower down than the setup.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 14, 2018
Messages
88
Reaction score
19
New Organ day today.

Completes my rig - at least for now. I say "for now" as I know Roland have something big up their sleeve this summer. Not sure exactly, but think its a Kronos/Montage/Stage 3 tier workstation and if so it might replace the FA as my top board, but for now:
 

Attachments


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top